Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358
Welcome to USU!
These pages are designed to help new USU faculty and students learn about the variety of information resources and services provided by the University's Learning Resource Center and Computer Help Desk.
The James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center (LRC) is the University's library. The LRC is your gateway to databases, electronic books and journals, information management and search training, and print resources provided by USU. The LRC also provides access to the University's Archives and provides support accessing the LRC's resources.
The UIS Help Desk is the University's "First Stop for Technology Help." Located in the lobby of Bldg D, the ARCS One-Stop provides a central location for students, faculty, and staff to receive face-to-face technology consultations, support and training.
*LRC hours comply with OPM or USU guidelines during inclement weather.
During the LRC's normal service hours, anyone on the USU campus may visit the library and use LRC resources. The LRC can be accessed 24/7 with an ID card (CAC, Alt-Token, or PAC) that has been registered by USU security for the expressed purpose of LRC after-hours access. In addition, the LRC’s website provides access to library electronic resources at all times.
Register for All-Hours Access
Use a registered CAC to enter or exit the LRC during unstaffed hours.
To register your CAC:
- Where: Building B, Ground Level (USU Security Concierge Desk / USU Welcome Center)
- When: Mondays - Fridays (0730-1330)
Please contact Physical Security at email@example.com with any enrollment questions.
Tips for Entering LRC via CAC Reader
Entering & Exiting the LRC using the Card Reader
Before a CAC, Proximity Card or Alt Token card can be used to enter or exit the LRC after staffed hours, the card must be registered with USU's security department.
Using your CAC to Access the LRC
1. Place your card (CAC, Alt-Token, or PAC) with the magnetic strip against the reader.
- When using a CAC, the photo on the card will be facing outwards.
- For best results, hold the card vertically and ensure the entire magnetic strip is touching or within 1.0 cm of the reader.
2. Hold the card against the reader until the light bar changes color.
- Cards may require 4 - 10 seconds to be read.
- When the reader’s light bar is red or yellow, access is not permitted. When the light bar turns green, access is allowed.
3. Only the door nearest the circulation desk will unlock.
4. To reduce the chance of generating a system error, scan the card both when you enter and exit the LRC, even if the library is fully open and the doors are unlocked.
Problems exiting or entering the LRC?
If your CAC has not been registered or is malfunctioning and not allowing you to enter or exit, phone security at 301-295-3038 to be buzzed in or out of the LRC.
Welcome to the LRC: Presentation
LRC Electronic Resources at a Glance
To use the LRC's electronic resources, you must have a user account with the LRC.
Below are a few of the LRC's most popular resources:
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination A collection of videos showing physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
CINAHL Complete This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Includes more than 2.8M records dating back to 1981. Includes citations to books, book chapters, nursing dissertations, education materials and journals not included in PubMed. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
ClinicalKey Flex A clinical search engine designed to enable fast discovery of the most relevant answers. Includes a large collection of medical resources in every medical and surgical speciality. This resource includes includes all MEDLINE abstracts and FirstConsult (provides evidence-based clinical summaries, differential diagnoses, and procedures).
Covidence Covidence is an online systematic review screening tool.
DynaMed Point-of-care clinical information tool with disease and evidence-based summaries for primary care providers.
Embase Includes all of PubMed/MEDLINE plus citations from 2,700+ european journals and conference abstracts. Offers a sophisticated drug and disease search interface.
APA PsycINFO Focused primarily on psychology and behavior and social sciences, PsycINFO has nearly 4 million bibliographic records, including journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed@USU Access the LRC's full-text articles within PubMed, the world's largest biomedical database.
UpToDate UpToDate® is a clinical decision tool authored by physicians to help clinicians make decisions at the point of care. Content includes tips for diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, and other tips.
VisualDx A clinical decision support system to assist in differential diagnosis with over 100,000 images (particularly of skin conditions), medication/drug reaction information, and information on various diseases and conditions.
Web of Science Provides access to scholarly literature in more than 250 disciplines, including conference proceedings. Best used for cited reference searching.
In addition, the LRC provides training and technical support for USU's site license for EndNote.
LRC Services at a Glance
The LRC offers the following services:
- Computer Workstations, including Macs and Windows machines, and scanning stations. Log-in is required.
- Computer Support from the library's help desk, covering many frequent software problems, including Sakai support.
- Inter-library loan to provide books, book chapters, and journal articles we don't own.
- Document delivery to provide electronic delivery of content we have in print, for off campus students and faculty.
- Instructional Classes to support the USU curriculum at the request of faculty and staff covering Evidence Based Practices, PubMed searching, EndNote, and many other library topics.
- Reference Services provide trained librarians to help you develop and execute a search strategy and manage your results.
- On-Demand Training sessions scheduled to meet the requests of small groups of students, staff, or departments.
- Brown Bag Sessions covering Evidence Based Medicine, systematic reviews, major databases (including PubMed, EMBASE, and CINAHL), EndNote, and many other topics.
- University Archives houses important documents from the history of the University. Dissertations and Theses placed on file with the library have been digitized and placed online.
Creating an LRC User Account
You can register to use the LRC's website in several minutes, but please allow our staff up to 2 business days to confirm your account information and activate privileges.
The OCIO One-Stop provides a central location for students, faculty, and staff to receive face-to-face technology consultations, support and training.
There are several help options available from the ARCS One-Stop:
- Email the ARCS help Desk: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Helpline - Call 301-295-9800 (0600-1700)
- In-Person Visit: Visit One-Stop at the ground floor Bldg D for face-to-face help. (0600-1700)
One Stop Google Apps for Government
USU uses Google not only for e-mail services, but for a variety of other online applications which, together, comprise a comprehensive suite of everyday office applications that handle word processing, spreadsheets, slides, websites, discussion groups, and even surveys.
Google Apps for Government
An introduction to a collection of office applications provided through the University's Google Apps for Government.
One Stop Online Training Library
ARCS Upcoming Classes/Online Training
Schedule and links to online and in-person training provided by the ARCS One-Stop.
Technology Bytes are short 2-10 minute video presentations on specific aspects of an application or service. They are designed to serve as "just-in-time" training with the goal of addressing common faculty or student questions that are best answered with a short video.
Google Apps Learning Center
Online Guide to Google Apps
One Stop Software Documentation Library
Poll Everywhere System
Poll Everywhere allows faculty to embed questions in a presentation. Students can respond by text or over the Web.The USU enterprise license of Poll Everywhere is accessible via USU’s Single Sign On (SSO). When visiting the link, type in your USU email address and then click on the SSO link that pops up.