Skip to main content

USU Archives World War I Materials: Home

This is a guide to the materials in the USU Archives related to World War I.

About World War I Materials in the USU Archives

The USU Archives has a number of items relating to World War I across various collections. These materials include U.S. Government publications about hospitals, books about shell shock, contemporary newspapers, and numerous books about various subjects relating to medicine and World War I. 

About the USU Archives

The University Archives for the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences collects, preserves, and makes available rare university materials; historical military medical and public health collections; and personal papers of enduring value from administrators, faculty, and alumni for the research use of the university and the general public.  The Archives collects manuscripts, oral histories, rare books, audio-visual materials, and artifacts relating to the history of the university and the history of military medicine.

The USU Archives Digital Collections

World War I Materials

Manuscript Collection

The World War I Collection, 1917-1920, includes material produced during the course of World War I, including a summary of casualties in the American Expeditionary Forces and four newspapers from the WWI era. The finding aid for this collection is linked below.

Rare Book Collection

The links below are a selection of the books on this topic that have been scanned by the Archives. Other volumes can be viewed and downloaded by searching the Archives' digital collection under the heading Military Medical History Documents, and the rare book collection can be searched via the LRC Catalog. 

LRC History Collection

The LRC History Collection also contains material related to World War I. The catalog records of selected materials are linked below. Additional material on this topic can be located by searching the LRC Catalog. 

LRC General Collection

The LRC General Collection also contains material related to World War I. The catalog records of selected materials are linked below. Additional material on this topic can be located by searching the LRC Catalog. 

Shell Shock Rare Books

This collection includes books scanned from the USU Archives' rare book collection from the World War I era. These books examine a soldier's physical or psychological reaction to the trauma of combat. During the World War I era, this disorder was called shell shock. Today, it is referred to as combat stress reaction (CSR), a precursor to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

The links below are a selection of the books on this topic that have been scanned by the Archives. Other volumes can be viewed and downloaded by searching the Archives' digital collection under the heading Military Medical History Documents, and the rare book collection can be searched via the LRC Catalog. 

Rare Book Collection

Subject Guide

Megan Sunday's picture
Megan Sunday
Contact:
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center
4301 Jones Bridge Road
Bethesda, MD 20814
301-295-0050