Skip to main content

USU Archives Tropical Medicine Materials: Home

This is a guide to the materials in the USU Archives related to tropical medicine.

About Tropical Medicine Materials in the USU Archives

Tropical Medicine is the branch of medicine that deals with health issues that are more common or are harder to control in tropical and subtropical regions. Tropical Medicine is a topic of particular importance at USU due to the international nature of military medicine.

The USU Archives has a number of items relating to Tropical Medicine across various collections. These materials include U.S. government publications, rare books, papers by USU faculty and students, and historical publications. 

About the USU Archives

The University Archives for the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences collects, preserves, and makes available rare university materials; historical military medical and public health collections; and personal papers of enduring value from administrators, faculty, and alumni for the research use of the university and the general public.  The Archives collects manuscripts, oral histories, rare books, audio-visual materials, and artifacts relating to the history of the university and the history of military medicine.

The USU Archives Digital Collections

Books on Tropical Medicine

Rare Book Collection

The links below are a selection of the books on this topic, some of which have been scanned by the Archives. Other volumes can be viewed and downloaded by searching the Archives' digital collection under the heading Military Medical History Documents, and the rare book collection can be searched via the LRC Catalog. 

LRC History Collection

The LRC History Collection also contains material related to Tropical Medicine. The catalog records of selected materials are linked below. Additional material on this topic can be located by searching the LRC Catalog. 

LRC General Collection

The LRC General Collection also contains material related to Tropical Medicine. The catalog records of selected materials are linked below. Additional material on this topic can be located by searching the LRC Catalog. 

Sir Patrick Manson Books

The Rare Book Collection contains several books by Sir Patrick Manson, the "Father of Tropical Medicine". The links below are the catalog records of the books in the Collection. These books are kept in the locked bookcases and can be viewed upon request.

Rare Book Collection

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy Collection

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy (JL, MD, COL, MC, ret), is a Professor Emeritus in the USU Department of Medical History. He became the first professor and Chair of the Department of Military Medicine at USU in 1976, positions he held until 1981. In 1981 Dr. Joy retired from the Army and founded the USU Department of Medical History, where he served as Chair until 1996. Dr. Joy also served as first USU Commandant from 1976-1981.

Throughout his career, Dr. Joy gave lectures on a variety of medical and historical topics, including Tropical Medicine. Notes, slides, and other material from these lectures can be found in the Dr. Robert J.T. Joy Papers in the USU Archives. The finding aid for this collection is linked below.

USU Theses, Dissertations, and DNP Projects

The USU Theses, Dissertations, and DNP Projects Collection includes every USU thesis and dissertation from 1981 through today. Several of these deal with topics related to tropical medicine. The links below are a selection of the material on this topic; other volumes can be viewed and downloaded by searching the Archives digital collection under the heading USUHS Theses, Dissertations, and DNP Projects, or via the LRC Catalog.

Subject Guide

Megan Sunday's picture
Megan Sunday
Contact:
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center
4301 Jones Bridge Road
Bethesda, MD 20814
301-295-0050