Skip to main content

Medicine in Extreme Cold Weather: Home

This is a guide to the USU Archives collections that deal with Medicine in Extreme Cold Weather.

About Medicine in Extreme Cold Weather

The USU Archives has a number of items relating to medicine in extreme cold weather in both the manuscript and rare book collections. Exploration and scientific research have taken people to the coldest places on Earth, requiring the study and development of the effects of extreme cold on the human body, and what prevention and treatment can be used in these circumstances. 

About the USU Archives

The University Archives for the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences collects, preserves, and makes available rare university materials; historical military medical and public health collections; and personal papers of enduring value from administrators, faculty, and alumni for the research use of the university and the general public.  The Archives collects manuscripts, oral histories, rare books, audio-visual materials, and artifacts relating to the history of the university and the history of military medicine.

The USU Archives Digital Collections

Related Institutions

The following are links to other institutions with collections and exhibits that complement the material in the USU Archives. 

National Museum of Health and Medicine

National Library of Medicine

National Archives and Records Administration

Books on Cold Weather Medicine

Rare Book Collection

 

The links below are a selection of the books on this topic, some of which have been scanned by the Archives. Other volumes can be viewed and downloaded by searching the Archives' digital collection under the heading Military Medical History Documents, and the rare book collection can be searched via the LRC Catalog. 

LRC History Collection

The LRC History Collection also contains material related to Extreme Cold Medicine. The catalog records of selected materials are linked below. Additional material on this topic can be located by searching the LRC Catalog. 

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy Collection

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy (JL, MD, COL, MC, ret), is a Professor Emeritus in the USU Department of Medical History. He became the first professor and Chair of the Department of Military Medicine at USU in 1976, positions he held until 1981. In 1981 Dr. Joy retired from the Army and founded the USU Department of Medical History, where he served as Chair until 1996. Dr. Joy also served as first USU Commandant from 1976-1981.

The collection contains notes, manuscripts, and research material related to cold weather medicine. The finding aid for this collection is linked below. The relevant material is in Series 4, Sub-Series 1: Notes/Drafts/Research Material/Manuscripts. 

Subject Guide

James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358