Skip to main content

Women During Wartime: Home

This is a guide to the materials in the USU Archives related to women's contributions during war.

About Women in War Materials in the USU Archives

The USU Archives has several items relating to women's contributions during wartime. These materials span various collections and include U.S. Government publications, contemporary newspapers, biographies, and memoirs.

About the USU Archives

The University Archives for the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences collects, preserves, and makes available rare university materials; historical military medical and public health collections; and personal papers of enduring value from administrators, faculty, and alumni for the research use of the university and the general public.  The Archives collects manuscripts, oral histories, rare books, audio-visual materials, and artifacts relating to the history of the university and the history of military medicine.

The USU Archives Digital Collections

Related Institutions

The following are links to other institutions with collections and exhibits that complement the material in the USU Archives. 

National Museum of Health and Medicine

National Library of Medicine

National Archives and Records Administration

Relevant Books

Rare Book Collection

The links below are a selection of the books in the Rare Book Collection that relate to this topic, some of which have been scanned by the Archives. Other volumes can be viewed and downloaded by searching the Archives' digital collection under the heading Military Medical History Documents, and the rare book collection can be searched via the LRC Catalog. 

LRC History Collection

The LRC History Collection also contains material related to women during war. The catalog records of selected materials are linked below. Additional material on this topic can be located by searching the LRC Catalog. 

LRC General Collection

The LRC General Collection also contains material related to women during wartime. The catalog records of selected materials are linked below. Additional material on this topic can be located by searching the LRC Catalog. 

U.S. Sanitary Commission Materials

The U.S. Sanitary Commission was founded in 1861, a private relief agency created to support ill and wounded soldiers of the Union Army during the Civil War. Primarily staffed by volunteers, often women, the Sanitary Commission raised money, made uniforms, collected food and other supplies, and ran hospital ships and soldiers’ homes for the U.S. Army. 

The USU Archives has a collection of materials created by the U.S. Sanitary Commission during the American Civil War, and these materials can be viewed and searched on the USU Archives Sanitary Commission Materials subject guide.

James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358