Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PowER Search Guide: Getting Started

Learn how to get the most out of our new search capabilities.

What is PowER Search?

PowER Search is a single, Google-like search interface for the full-text of the LRC's e-books, e-journals, databases, and digitized holdings (e.g., Archives' Dissertations & Theses), as well as the LRC's print holdings.

PowER Search solves the problem of not knowing where to start. Your search retrieves material of many content types (books, articles, conference proceedings, government documents, etc.) and is organized by relevancy for easy browsing.

Start at the LRC Website

  • Login with your LRC username and password. Enter your search terms via the Search Our Collections box or click “PowER Search”n from Featured Resources.

  • Enter keywords to locate relevant materials. Check out the Search Tips tab to learn about special search features (AND, OR, NOT, truncation, and phrase searching). Use the Advanced Search option to build your search.

  • Enter citations, DOIs, ISBNs or ISSNs to retrieve full-text. You can search by these identifiers to quickly locate full-text or submit a material request.

Advanced Search Box

Advanced Search provides the options to limit by search field, construct more complex search strategies and apply filters, e.g., language, publication, date. 

You can access Advanced Search from the "Search Our Collections" box, or using the  from Search Results page.  

 

Below is the Advanced Search Screen:

 

Contact the LRC

 

 

Browse Our FAQs

Email: lrc.services@usuhs.edu

Telephone: (301) 295-3350

Rhonda J. Allard, MLIS

Profile Photo
Rhonda J. Allard
Contact:
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-9021-3672
301-295-3398
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358

USU Logo