PubMed (MEDLINE) use PubMed@USU -- LRC login required
The world's largest biomedical database of published literature dating back to the 1940s. PubMed, or some other MEDLINE service, should be a first stop for all medical, pharmaceutical, and biochemical research. Coverage of topics such as psychology, psychiatry, and nursing is less extensive but still noteworthy.
Search Notes
PubMed may be searched using keywords. The best searches, however, employ the controlled vocabulary MeSH. Use the limits tab to control factors such as publication type, year of publication, and even human/animal articles. Be careful before excluding all human articles - human tissue may be used in animal experiments. An asterisk (*) may be used on root words to search for variant endings (e.g. pig* retrieves: pig, pigs, pigeon, pigment, pigmentation, etc.).
Embase -- LRC login required
A database similar to PubMed in scope, Embase includes many European journals not available in PubMed. When international coverage is important, don't forget to search Embase. Embase also has strong coverage for pharmaceutical research.
Search Notes
Embase may be searched using keywords. The best searches, however, employ the controlled vocabulary, Emtree Search limits, such as publication date and language, are available. Use Embase's Drug Search tool for pharmaceutical research questions. An asterisk (*) may be used on root words to search for variant endings.
PsycINFO -- LRC login required
A database that focuses specifically psychological health, dating back to the 1800s. Research on TBI or PTSD should always include this database.
Search Notes
PsycINFO may be searched using keywords. For better searches, however, employ the controlled vocabulary, or "Subject Headings", from the advanced search feature. A dollar sign ($) may be used on root words to search for variant endings, a hash sign (#) may be used to find variability on one letter (e.g. wom#n retrieves woman or women), and a question mark (?) may be used to add 0-1 letters (e.g. colo?r retrieves color or colour).
Web of Science -- LRC login required
The LRC's best jack-of-all-trades databases, Web of Science provides coverage of academic disciplines not covered as well by other databases.
Search Notes
Web of Science can only be searched using keywords. When searching Web of Science, be sure to include synonyms, wildcards for variant word endings, and the connectors AND, OR, and NOT.
Agricola (Free)
AGRICOLA is a catalog of the National Agriculture Library's collections and index to publications on agricultural topics.
Search Notes
AGRICOLA can be searched using keywords or NAL's controlled Subjects.
A list of additional databases is provided by the National Agriculture Library's Animal Welfare Information Center. While some of these resources require a subscription, many do not.
