Skip to main content

USUHS LRC Update, Spring 2017: Home

Special Article: Farewell to Linda Spitzer

 

After 15 years of dedicated service to USU, including the last five years as Library Director, Ms. Linda Spitzer retired from the LRC on 31 March 2017. Her career in the library and information field spans over 40 years, with increasingly responsible librarian positions at Cornell University Medical College, the Department of Health and Human Services' Parklawn campus, and of course, USU.

Linda’s tenure is marked by her strong advocacy for the LRC. She embraced changes in information and technology and always strove to improve the tools and services that best support the University’s educational mission. Linda proved the continued relevance of libraries not only despite these changes, but because of them.

She introduced a number of efficiency-enhancing initiatives, including the online citation service LinkOut for PubMed; a new Inter-Library Loan System (ILLIAD); new LRC homepages; a new discovery system for the LRC’s resources (PowERsearch); development of library resource guides using LibGuides; and 24/7 card-swipe access to the LRC. Linda also presided over physical improvements to the LRC, including new shelving; a forthcoming dedicated space for the University Archives; updated seating and study spaces; and refreshed study rooms with large-screen monitors and sound-proofing.

In retirement, Linda looks forward to spending time with her growing family and is excited to become a first-time grandmother this summer. She plans to enjoy sleeping in late, trying out new recipes, and rekindling her efforts at gardening and knitting. The LRC staff will miss her leadership and baked goods.

Faculty of 1000

The LRC has renewed its subscription for Faculty of 1000 (F1000), available through the LRC’s website. In addition to F1000 Prime, an article recommendation service, F1000 has recently added a new tool, the F1000 Workspace. The F1000 Workspace is an online reference manager designed to facilitate group collaboration.  Unfortunately, there are several add-ons to Workspace functionality that are not compatible with USUHS workstations, however the tool should work on personally owned computers.

 

Upcoming Trial: Altmetric.com

 

Starting on April 3rd, the LRC will have a trial of Altmetric.com for a month. Altmetric.com is one of several leading altmetric tools currently available. Altmetrics are used to measure the "impact" of publications beyond traditional journal citations, including appearances in the news, on blogs, and in social media. These metrics can be a useful way to show the impact of research beyond traditional audiences and as an early indicator of important materials that have not yet had time to be cited.

New Archives Space is Nearing Completion

For the past four months, Facilities has been constructing an expanded and improved space for the USU Archives on the third floor of the LRC. The new space will feature controls to stabilize temperature and humidity; new baked enamel steel shelving; coated concrete flooring; and secure access. These preservation standards will help to ensure the longevity of the USU records and military medical history collections that will be housed in the space. There will be an open house to unveil the new space in the coming months.

 

 

Finding Aids to USU Archival Collections

 

Did you know that the USU Archives creates finding aids to assist researchers in locating archival material on their research topics? The USU Archives houses many collections relating to the history of the University. Staff recently processed collections relating to USU Commencement, USU Publications, the Board of Regents, and attempts to close the University in the early 1990s. Finding aids for these collections as well as collections relating to military medical history are available in the Archives’ digital repository here: http://cdm16005.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/landingpage/collection/p16005coll1. If you would like to know more about any collections or archival research, please contact the Archives at lrc.archives@usuhs.edu.

 

 

USU Presidents Exhibit

In honor of the installation and investiture ceremony of President Thomas, the USU Archives mounted an exhibit on the first five USU presidents. Visit the exhibit case in the LRC lobby to discover the remarkable men that have guided USU from the 1970s through today. Enjoy photographs and memorabilia on each of the past presidents from the University Archives.

 

 

Training for Ovid Databases

On Monday, May 15th, from 1300-1500 the LRC will host a series of 30-minute sessions on databases available from Ovid, Wolters Kluwer Health.  The databases to be covered will be:

  • 1300-1330: Joanna Briggs Institute-EBP Database & Tools – Learn how to use one of the leading nursing evidence-based resources, along with the appraisal tools to help guide practice.
  • 1330-1400: PsycINFO –This database provides systematic coverage of peer-reviewed psychological literature.
  • 1400-1430: OvidMD – Learn how to quickly find relevant clinical information for decision support using OvidMD, while earning CME credit. Access UpToDate and Ovid content together.
  • 1430-1500: Visible Body – Provides access to the3-D models and animations that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, skeleton & circulatory system. Learn how to access this content on your desktop or tablet.
  • 1500-1530: Ovid Content Overview – Learn about all of the content available via the Ovid databases and new search techniques.


You can go to the LRC website to sign-up for all or any of the individual sessions.

ER CAC Access Redesigned

Our Electronic Resources library portal (ER) supports login via USU Single-Sign-On, CAC or ER username and password. In deference to web browsers that struggle with web sites that optionally challenge for CAC credentials, LRC AMI staff redesigned  our CAC authentication earlier this year. Similar to many other DoD web sites, CAC login is now explicit as a login choice.

Users who optionally wish to login with their CAC should log in with their assigned ER username and password first, insert their CAC in a reader, then click the My Account pull down menu and choose Register my CAC.  Once registered, you may click the Login Using CAC button and enter your CAC PIN when prompted.

EndNote X8

CSD is now distributing EndNote X8 for Windows and Mac.  Icons in both the Mac and Windows version have been enhanced to be more intuitive and are more consistent between platforms. EndNote X8 is compatible with the latest operating systems. X8 features more efficient means of updating groups of references. It offers enhanced library sharing tools for larger groups of collaborators, tools to track changes and locate collaborators

Students may download EndNote X8 from the Student Software Library. Faculty and staff using managed systems will soon be able to find it available through the Self Service Software Catalog.  Users seeking EndNote X8 for personal systems should consult the OneStop desk.

 

PubMed's Best Match: A New Sort Feature

 

You may have noticed that PubMed has been promoting a new sort feature, Best Match. The new sort feature can be useful when your search strategy returns a higher than expected number of results; it will help you quickly identify the most relevant citations.  

Following the image shown below:

1) Click Sort by to change from ‘Most Recent’ to ‘Best Match.’

2) At right, in the 'Best match search information' box displays MeSH translations and other mappings. Click 'See more' to view the full listing of translations and mappings.

 

In layman’s terms, the Best Match algorithm counts the number of times your search terms appear as well as where they appear within a PubMed record to return a ranked listing of citations.  When you switch from ‘Most Recent’ to ‘Best Match’,  the number of search results may change because the algorithm also changes how PubMed translates and maps your search terms.  As a result, Best Match is not advised when you are required to document your search strategy, including the total number of results (e.g., systematic reviews).

To learn more about the algorithm used to create the ranked listing of citations, click here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/#pubmedhelp.Algorithm_for_finding_best_ma

Digital Badges and Library Services

Beginning January 2017, it has been USU's policy to no longer issue physical badges to onsite personnel but instead, issue a digital badge number stored in the USU Corporate Database. In  response to this change, LRC will:

  1. Continue to support physical badges in their Circulation system along with "digital badges", e-mail addresses or the user's name to check out physical materials during official LRC hours.
  2. Change the focus of the new patron registration system away from physical badges and towards official e-mail addresses.
  3. Retool the after-hours checkout station (more information is forthcoming.)
 

Calendar Notes

The LRC is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to patrons with a registered Common Access Card but the LRC staff will be unavailable during these federal holidays:

  • Monday, May 29, 2017, Memorial Day
  • Tuesday, July 4, 2017, Independence Day
  • Monday, September 4, 2017, Labor Day
  • Monday, October 9, 2017, Columbus Day

Points of Contact

Phone:
  • Circulation/Renewals: 301-295-3350
  • Reference: 301-295-3358
  • Interlibrary Loan 301-319-4039
  • Archives: 301-295-0050
  • Computer Services: 301-295-3358
  • Administration: 301-295-3356
E-mail:
Word Wide Web:

LRC Update Newsletter, Archive of Issues

Registered for Electronic Resources?

Or need to refer a colleague?

Register at: http://www.lrc.usuhs.edu/register/

James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358