Skip to main content

Manuals and Instructions in the USU Archives: Home

A guide to the government and military manuals and instructions in the USU Archives collections.

About this Subject Guide

The USU Archives has a number of U.S. Government and military bulletins, guidebooks, and manuals in its collections, ranging from medical officer reference books to aids for using pack animals. A number of these items have been scanned and can be viewed and downloaded via the Archives online collections, while others can be searched via their collection's finding aid and viewed in person.

About the USU Archives

The University Archives for the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences collects, preserves, and makes available rare university materials; historical military medical and public health collections; and personal papers of enduring value from administrators, faculty, and alumni for the research use of the university and the general public.  The Archives collects manuscripts, oral histories, rare books, audio-visual materials, and artifacts relating to the history of the university and the history of military medicine.

The USU Archives Digital Collections

Related Institutions

The following are links to other institutions with collections and exhibits that complement the material in the USU Archives. 

National Museum of Health and Medicine

National Library of Medicine

National Archives and Records Administration

Military Medical Manuals Collection

The Military Medical Manuals Collection spans the years 1912-1975 and includes many undated documents. The collection materials include manuals and instructional materials produced by the government to guide military procedures. They relate primarily to medical education within the military and sanitation, but also cover a wide range of medical topics dealt with in the military. The Finding Aid for this collection is linked below. 

The following are a selection of titles from this collection: 

  • The Bluejacket's Manual, United States Navy. 1902
  • Letterman General Hospital: Blood Chemistry for Laboratory Technicians. c 1940

  • Sanitation Instructions. 1942

  • Use of Gasoline Containers for Transportation of Drinking Water. 1943

  • Transportation of the Sick and Wounded. 1945

  • Damage from Atomic Explosion and Design of Protective Structures. 1950

  • Poisonous Fish-like Vertebrates. 1957

  • Lectures in Aerospace Medicine. 1963

  • Aeromedical Reviews: Pharmacology and Toxicology of Propellant Fuels. 1966

U.S. Army Technical Bulletins

The USU Archives has scanned several U.S. Army Technical Bulletins created by the U.S. War Department, from 1956-1957. These materials can be viewed and downloaded from the Archives' online collections. These bulletins deal with medical treatments dealing with diseases and the effects of heat. 

USU Archives Military Medical History Documents Collection

The USU Archives Military Medical History Documents collection features a number of military medical handbooks and guidebooks. The following are a selection of those that have been scanned by the USU Archives. 

Civil War Materials

Military Handbooks

World War II Materials

Radiological Defense Materials

Subject Guide

James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358