Learning Resource Center: Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Resources: EBM Resources

EBM Pyramid

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Free but requires registration

Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.

EBM Resources

Resources for Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

EBM Reviews: ACP Journal Club, CCTR, Cochrane DSR, and DARE through Ovid LRC login required

LRC login requiredThis multi-file database allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).

Systematic Reviews via PubMed Clinical Queries

In the search box, enter search terms and click "Search." The first five (5) results will be displayed under the Systematic Reviews column. Use the "See all" link to view results in PubMed.

Evidence Aid

The Evidence Aid project was established following the tsunami in the Indian Ocean in December 2004. It uses knowledge from Cochrane Reviews and other systematic reviews to provide reliable, up-to-date evidence on interventions that might be considered in the context of natural disasters and other major healthcare emergencies. Evidence Aid seeks to highlight which interventions work, which don’t work, which need more research, and which, no matter how well meaning, might be harmful; and to provide this information to agencies and people planning for, or responding to, disasters.

Resources for Critically-Appraised Individual Articles & Topics

ACP Journal Club LRC login required

This database consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group. Citations include full-text articles of enhanced abstracts and commentary on methodologically sound and clinically relevant articles found in top clinical journals. A special “Browse Journals” feature allows you to separately view the table of contents for each journal. NOTE: Funding to support AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) ended on July 16, 2018.

Evidence-Based Journal Series (BMJ Publishing Group) LRC login required

Primary research articles within the discipline are selected for quality and clinical relevance. A structure abstract and expert commentary are provided for each study.

Evidence-Based Medicine (via PubMed w/ LinkOut)
Evidence-Based Mental Health (via PubMed w/ LinkOut)
Evidence-Based Nursing (via PubMed w/ LinkOut

Nursing Resources

All EBM Reviews (Cochrane) [Main] This link opens in a new window
Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED
Journals@Ovid Complete [Main] This link opens in a new window

Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing
A peer-reviewed, evidence-based nursing journal and primary source of information to improve patient care (Electronic access: 2004 to current).

PubMed Clinical Queries

Clinical Queries are specialized search filters intended for use by clinicians. The study categories -- therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guides -- are provided and you may indicate whether you wish your search to be more sensitive (i.e., include most relevant articles but probably including some less relevant ones) or more specific (i.e., including mostly relevant articles but probably omit a few).

PubMed for HandHelds (PubMedHH) Mobile App

Useful as a point of care tool, PubMed for Handhelds is available as both a website optimized for viewing on a mobile device and as an iOS or Android app. The Consensus Abstracts, includes the PICO (Patient/Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome), with links to TBL (the bottom line) summaries, Abstract and Full-Text. You can also select specific articles to email or text to yourself or colleagues.

EMBASE LRC login required

Major biomedical and pharmaceutical database covering drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management,public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. Updated weekly.

To limit your EMBASE search to the best evidence-producing studies, click "Advanced." In the "Advanced Limits" section, make desired selections or check all.

PsycINFO LRC login required

International coverage of the professional academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

Select "Advanced Search." In the blue-shaded box, click "Additional Limits" and make desired selections from the "Clinical Queries" box. Click "Limit a search" to run your search with selected limits.

CINAHL LRC login required

This is the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.

To limit your CINAHL search to the best evidence-producing studies, select "Clinical Queries" and/or "Evidence-Based Practice" under the "Limits" area.

Databases

AccessMedicine [Main] This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.
McGraw Hill Image & Powerpoint Guidelines (https://mhmedical.com/ss/help.aspx#image%20guidelines)
Rules for using Images and Presentations downloaded from McGraw-Hill products, including AccessMedicine, Case Files, JAMA Evidence, and more.
ClinicalKey [Main] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a number of pharmaceutical monographs, books, videos and top journals.
Micromedex Healthcare Series [Main] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for those searching for drug information. Users may search by generic or trade names to find general drug information, drug interactions, aid with drug identification, drug comparisons, calculators, as patient education handouts.
UpToDate [Main] This link opens in a new window
A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations.

eBooks

MedlinePlus.gov

Rhonda Allard

Rhonda J. Allard

Email Me

Contact:

https://orcid.org/0000-0001-9021-3672

301-295-3398

Subjects: Reference Management Tools