Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358
Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses.
Evidence Based Medicine by Evidence Based Medicine provides a clear explanation of the central questions of EBM - how to ask answerable clinical questions, how to translate them into effective searches for the best evidence, how to critically appraise that evidence for its validity and importance, and how to integrate it with patients' values and preferences. New edition of fantastically successful book on EBM, written by the best-known authorities in the world. Will focus on the major challenge of practicing EBM in real time, providing tips and tools to help achieve this Focuses on the major challenge of practicing EBM in real time, providing tips and tools to help achieve this. All clinical examples are new. Expanded section on limitations of EBM - discusses common criticisms and the real limitations and how they can be overcome. Highlights the problems with the CAT databases available on the web. Expanded section on clinical decision rules in diagnosis. Interactive and user-friendly CD. Downloadable EBM resources for handhelds.
Call Number: WB 102 E933 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-09
Users' Guide to the Medical Literature: A manual for evidence-based clinical practice by The #1 guide to the principles and clinical applications of evidence-based medicine has just gotten better! A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE for 2011! No other resource helps you to put key evidence-based medicine protocols into daily clinical practice better than Users' Guides to the Medical Literature. An instant classic in its first edition, this detailed, yet highly readable reference demystifies the statistical, analytical, and clinical principles of evidence-based medicine, giving you a hands-on, practical resource that no other text can match. Here, you'll learn how to distinguish solid medical evidence from poor medical evidence, devise the best search strategies for each clinical question, critically appraise the medical literature, and optimally tailor evidence-based medicine for each patient. The new second edition of this landmark resource is now completely revised and refreshed throughout, with expanded coverage of both basic and advanced issues in using evidence-based medicine in clinical practice. FEATURES: Completely revised and updated to reflect the enormous expansion in medical research and evidence-based resources since the first edition Innovative organization guides you from the fundamentals of using the medical literature to the more advanced strategies and skills for use in every day patient care situations Abundant and current real-world examples drawn from the medical literature are woven throughout, and include important related principles and pitfalls in using medical literature in patient care decisions Practical focus on the key issues in evidence-based practice: What are the results? Are the results valid? How to I apply to results to the care of my patients? More than 60 internationally recognized editors and contributors from the U.S., Canada, South America, Europe, and Asia -- the best of the best in the discipline NEW coverage on how to: --Avoid being misled by biased presentations of research findings --Interpret the significance of clinical trials that are discontinued early --Influence clinician behavior to improve patient care --Apply key strategies for teaching evidence-based medicine Also look for JAMAevidence.com, a new interactive database for the best practice of evidence based medicine.
Publication Date: 2008-05-21
The Rational Clinical Examination by The ultimate guide to the evidence-based clinical encounter "This book is an excellent source of supported evidence that provides useful and clinically relevant information for the busy practitioner, student, resident, or educator who wants to hone skills of physical diagnosis. It provides a tool to improve patient care by using the history and physical examination items that have the most reliability and efficiency."--Annals of Internal Medicine "The evidence-based examination techniques put forth by Rational Clinical Examination is the sort that can be brought to bear on a daily basis - to save time, increase confidence in medical decisions, and help decrease unnecessary testing for conditions that do not require absolute diagnostic certainty. In the end, the whole of this book is greater than its parts and can serve as a worthy companion to a traditional manual of physical examination."--Baylor University Medical Center (BUMC)Proceedings 5 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "Physical diagnosis has been taught to every medical student but this evidence-based approach now shows us why, presenting one of medicine's most basic tenets in a new and challenging light. The format is extraordinary, taking previously published material and updating the pertinent evidence since the initial publication, affirming or questioning or refining the conclusions drawn from the data. "This is a book for everyone who has studied medicine and found themselves doubting what they have been taught over the years, not that they have been deluded, but that medical traditions have been unquestionably believed because there was no evidence to believe otherwise. The authors have uncovered the truth. "This extraordinary, one-of-a-kind book is a valuable addition to every medical library."--Doody's Review Service Completely updated with new literature analyses, here is a uniquely practical, clinically relevant approach to the use of evidence in the content of physical examination. Going far beyond the scope of traditional physical examination texts, this invaluable resource compiles and presents the evidence-based meanings of signs, symptoms, and results from physical examination maneuvers and other diagnostic studies. Page after page, you'll find a focus on actual clinical questions and presentations, making it an incomparably practical resource that you'll turn to again and again. Importantly, the high-yield content of The Rational Clinical Examination is significantly expanded and updated from the original JAMA articles, much of it published here for the first time. It all adds up to a definitive, ready-to-use clinical exam sourcebook that no student or clinician should be without. FEATURES Packed with updated, new, and previously unpublished information from the original JAMA articles Standardized template for every issue covered, including: Case Presentation; Why the Issue Is Clinically Important; Research and Statistical Methods Used to Find the Evidence Presented; The Sensitivity and Specificity of Each Key Result; Resolution of the Case Presentation; and the Clinical Bottom Line Completely updated with all-new literature searches and appraisals supplementing each chapter Full-color format with dynamic clinical illustrations and images Real-world focus on a specific clinical question in each chapter, reflecting the way clinicians approach the practice of evidence-based medicine More than 50 complete chapters on common and challenging clinical questions and patient presentations Also available: JAMAevidence.com, a new interactive database for the best practice of evidence based medicine
Publication Date: 2008-09-15
Care at the Close of Life by From one of the world's leading medical journals comes the definitive evidence-based, full-color guide to end-of-life and palliative care "...represents an important milestone in the evolution of care for people with advanced disease---for which its editors and authors and JAMA should be rightly proud. It is wonderful that JAMA had the foresight to publish aseries on this topic, which, as medicine has become more technologically advanced and subspecialized, is often overlooked and, sometimes worse, avoided....this book will be invaluable for front-line clinicians, and indeed all health care practitioners--as care at the close of life is a part of almost all of medicine's specialties and settings."--Irene J. Higginson, BMBS, PhD, FPPHM, FRCP; Dept. of Palliative Care, Policy, & Rehabilitation; Cicely Saunders Institute; King's College London (from the foreword) A new addition to the JAMAevidence series, Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience offers evidence-based and clinical expert guidance on caring for patients with life-limiting illness, incorporating the words and perspectives of affected patients, their families, and treating clinicians. Organized by these actual clinical cases, the book is based on the acclaimed 7-year series of 42 articles, originally published in JAMA as "Perspectives on Care at the Close of Life," and now thoroughly updated as chapters and featuring extensive never-before-published material. Care at the Close of Life covers are a wide range of clinical syndromes, disease processes, communication challenges, health-care delivery settings, and issues faced by patients, including withdrawal of dialysis and other life-sustaining measures, cross-cultural approaches, and the role of chemotherapy. Throughout the book, emphasis is on the principles of palliative care, with the patient and family at the center of care, and with attention given to all problems--physical, psychological, social, and spiritual. Reflecting this focus, each chapter begins with a patient case study to introduce the clinical problem, followed by "perspectives" that draw on extensive, real-world dialogue between clinicians, patients, and families. Internationally renowned authors then review the typical challenges illustrated by the case, offering state-of-the-art, evidence-based assessment and treatment approaches. Features Fully revised and updated text with new evidence and references, including the search methodology for each chapter's update Evidence-based orientation presents the current state of knowledge in the care of terminally ill patients and support for their families and caregivers Practical clinical guidance and approaches from international experts in palliative care Self-assessment Q&A, for reinforcing your knowledge of each chapter's content and for preparing for exams A useful Glossary of acronyms, terms, and tests Updated Resources for each chapter offer current, authoritative sources of diagnostic and treatment information that can help you optimize palliative care Medline PubMed ID numbers facilitate quick, convenient access to references
Publication Date: 2010-10-25
What is EBM?
What is EBM?
Evidence-Based Medicine is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values. (Sackett DL, Straus, Richardson WS, et al. Evidence-based medicine: how to practice and teach EBM. 2nd ed. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone, 2000.)
Image Source: The Cochrane Collection
Tutorials & User's Guides