Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Point of Care Resources: Home

How much time do you have?

Less than 5 Minutes


5-30 Minutes


30-60 Minutes

Diagnosis Resources

Diagnosaurus provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases. You can view entries by organ system, symptom, or disease.


Clinical Key's "Clinical Overviews/First Consult"

An authoritative evidence-based and continuously updated clinical information resource for healthcare professionals. Designed for use at the point-of-care, it provides instant, user-friendly access to the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention.
  • Note: Clinical Key app available. You will need to create a Clinical Key account, install the app on your phone, and then log in to the app using your Clinical Key username and password. 

Point of Care Resources

Below are useful resources designed to support clinical decisions at the point of care, including evidence-based databases.

Access Medicine
In-depth resource of biomedical information -- textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains more than 60 medical books, including Harrison’s, Hurst’s The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. This database also includes images, illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos, as well as USMLEasy.


ACP Journal Club (Ovid)
This resource was developed with busy clinicians in mind. ACP Journal Club's general purpose is to select from the biomedical literature articles that report original studies and systematic reviews that warrant immediate attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. These articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.


Clinical Key
An authoritative evidence-based and continuously updated clinical information resource for healthcare professionals. Designed for use at the point-of-care, it provides instant, user-friendly access to the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention.


Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)
Contains more than 5,000 systematic reviews of primary research in health care and health policy, and are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care. They investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation. They also assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting.


Essential Evidence
Developed with the mission to improve the health and lives of people by providing patient-oriented evidence that matters (POEMs) in a rapid and accessible format -- a one-page synopses of recent research studies of importance to everyday clinical practice.


Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Clinically reliable information on more than 1000 natural medicines, including herbs, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, etc.


PubMed Clinical Queries (Free)
A search interface designed to quickly retrieve evidence-based articles of a clinical nature.

Useful as a point of care tool, PubMed for Handhelds is available as both a website optimized for viewing on a mobile device and as an iOS or Android app. The Consensus Abstracts, includes the PICO (Patient/Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome), with links to TBL (the bottom line) summaries, Abstract and Full-Text. You can also select specific articles to email or text to yourself or colleagues.

UpToDate
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource to support clinical decision making at the point-of-care. Contains patient information, medical calculators and drug information. Since 2006, provides graded recommendations for treatment and screening.


Mobile Apps (LRC Research Guide)
This resource guide contains medical calculators and apps to provide clinical decision support at the point of care.

Contact the LRC

 

 

Browse Our FAQs

Email: lrc.services@usuhs.edu

Telephone: (301) 295-3350

Recommended Guides

Reference/Instruction Librarian

Profile Photo
Rhonda J. Allard
Contact:
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-9021-3672
301-295-3398
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358

USU Logo