Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Search the LRC Collections: Home

LRC Collections

The James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center (LRC) offers a wealth of information resources to support the mission of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USUHS). These collections include academic journals and books (both online and in print), scholarly databases, archival materials, and more. These resources are available to USUHS faculty, students, and staff.

Search Tools

Once you've logged into the LRC website, use the SEARCH OUR COLLECTIONS section on the left-hand side of the page to search and access LRC resources. 

There are six search tools to choose from.

Search Our Collections

Scroll down further in this guide for more detailed information about each search tool.

powERsearch eJournals eBooks ER PubMed@USU Catalog

Which Tool Should I Use?

The answer depends on what you want to search for. The table below indicates the recommended search tool(s) depending on the type of search you would like to perform. For example, if you wish to search by e-journal title (such as JAMA), the eJournals and ER tools are preferred. 

Detailed descriptions of each search tool are provided further down in this guide.

  Search Tools
Searching by... powERsearch eJournals eBooks ER PubMed@USU Catalog

e-journal titles

 
e-journal article titles        
e-journal article full text          
e-book titles    
e-book full text          
print journal titles    
print book titles        
names of websites, databases, etc.      

 = This search tool is preferred for the resource type indicated.

​ = This search tool may be used to search for the resource type indicated, but other tools may perform better for that resource type.

powERsearch

What Is It?

PowERsearch is a single, Google-like search interface offering full text searching of the LRC's e-journals and e-books. This tool also enables searching by title for print books, print journals, and digitized documents (e.g. USUHS Dissertations & Theses) from the USUHS Archives

The powERsearch tool is powered by the ProQuest Summon® Service and primarily relies on the ProQuest Knowledge Base, a database of e-journals and e-books. Any e-journal or e-book in the LRC collections will be findable by title in powERsearch as long as it is listed in the ProQuest Knowledge Base

AdditionallyProQuest has incorporated the full text of many e-journal issues and e-book chapters into the Summon Unified Index. Any e-journal or e-book in the LRC collections will be findable by searching for any phrase which appears in that resource—such as an article title or any sentence in the resource—in powERsearch as long as that resource in the Summon Unified Index.

The LRC also incorporates some local title listings into powERsearch results by linking to records in the Catalog and the USUHS Archives collections. This enables searching for e-journal titles, print journal and print book titles, and selected other resources.

Why Use It?

The strength of powERsearch is its full text search capability. It is best used to search for e-journal articles (by article title or full text) and for e-books (by e-book title or full text). The ProQuest Knowledge Base and Summon Unified Index are extensive databases and cover the majority of the LRC electronic collections.

Users may also expand search results to include citations for resources outside the LRC collections, which includes the vast academic literature covered in the ProQuest Knowledge Base. These searchable citations include both physical and social sciences, covering disciplines outside biomedical such as education. 

How to Use It?

Visit the LRC's comprehensive search guide for powERsearch for more information about searching this tool.

Limitations

Resources which are not listed in the ProQuest Knowledge Base are only included in powERsearch by linking to Catalog records. These links are updated on a quarterly basis. As a result, powERsearch may not provide the most up-to-date search results for print journals, print books, e-journals (when searching by journal title), or other types of resources such as websites or databases.

eJournals

What Is It?

The eJournals tool is powered by the Third Iron BrowZine™ system. It enables searching of the LRC's e-journals in a intuitive, easy-to-navigate interface.

The system is driven by Third Iron's database of scholarly, peer-reviewed publications. Any e-journal in the LRC collections will be findable by title in the eJournals tool as long as it is in the Third Iron database.

Why Use It?

The eJournals tool offers a powerful way to browse the LRC's e-journal collections by broad subject categories. The BrowZine™ system assigns each e-journal to a subject (e.g., Emergency and Disaster Medicine).

The eJournals tool is a great way to discover which e-journal titles the LRC holds in a particular subject.

This tool is also recommended when you have a specific e-journal title in mind and would like to browse that journal by volume or year of publication.

Limitations

E-journals which are not in the Third Iron database will not appear in the eJournals tool.

This tool does not feature full text searching.

 

eBooks

What Is It?

The eBooks tool searches the same underlying database as the powERsearch tool, except it is limited to e-books. Any e-book in the LRC collections will be findable in in the eBooks tool as long as it is listed in the ProQuest Knowledge Base.

Why Use It?

The eBooks tool is a quick way to search for e-books in the LRC collections without having to navigate the advanced search filters in the powERsearch tool to narrow down search results to only books.

Limitations

E-books which are not listed in the ProQuest Knowledge Base are not included in the eBooks tool search results.

This tool does not feature full text searching.

Upcoming Changes

ProQuest will soon unveil a major overhaul to the eBooks tool to expand its functionality. Look for changes to this tool in Fall 2016.

ER

What Is It?

The ER tool is the LRC's internally-produced database for all Electronic Resources in the LRC collections. It contains records representing e-journals, e-books, and print journals. It also contains records for selected other online resources useful to the USUHS community, such as websites, databases, and other web-based tools.

The ER tool features the most up-to-date, authoritative listing of e-journals and e-books in the LRC collections. Since it is not driven by any externally-managed databases, it is able to include every (electronic) resource in the LRC collections.

Why Use It?

Since it is the most authoritative listing of the LRC's electronic resources, the ER tool is great for verifying whether a specific e-journal or e-book is in the LRC's collections. The ER tool is best used to search for e-journals and e-books (by journal or book title).

Limitations

The ER tool does not feature searching by e-journal article titles, e-journal article full text, or e-book full text.

PubMed@USU

What Is It?

PubMed is a database maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The database includes over 26 million citations for journal articles in the biomedical and life sciences literature. The citations in the PubMed database are freely available to the public. Keep in mind that many of these citations are for journals which are not part of the LRC collections. 

PubMed@USU is the LRC's portal to PubMed. The PubMed@USU portal activates icons for PubMed citations that are part of the LRC collections. These icons indicate whether the LRC offers full text access—in electronic or print format—to a particular cited article. (Note that these icons are available for most, but not all, of the citations in PubMed.)

PubMed LinkOut icon for USU Electronic resources

In PubMed@USU, this icon will appear on citations for which the LRC offers full text via an online e-journal. which areIn PubMed@USU, 

PubMed LinkOut icon for USU Print resources

In PubMed@USU, this icon will appear on citations for which the LRC owns the print issue of the journal.

Why Use It?

PubMed is one of the most extensive databases of the biomedical and health sciences literature. First and foremost, it is a powerful tool for searching journal article citations regardless whether they are in the LRC collections. 

How to Use It?

Limitations

PubMed's coverage focuses on the biomedical and health sciences literature. Other disciplines of interest to the USUHS community may not be included, such as education, engineering, statistics, or other social or physical sciences. PubMed also does not include citations for books.

Similarly, not all materials in the LRC collections are cited in PubMed. Furthermore, even when LRC materials are cited in PubMed, the PubMed@USU portal (those USU Electronic and USU Hardcopy icons explained above) are only available for a subset of PubMed citations. As a result, PubMed is not a comprehensive listing of materials in the LRC collections.

Catalog

What Is It?

The LRC Catalog is a classic online public access catalog (OPAC) with searchable records of the LRC collections. It is powered by Innovative Interfaces Inc.'s Millennium integrated library system (ILS). 

The records in the Catalog represent the print journals, print books, e-journals, e-books, and other resources in the LRC collections. These records include rich bibliographic information about each title, such as the publication history or details about the content. Since it is not tied to an external knowledge base, it also includes selected other online resources useful to the USUHS community, such as websites, databases, and other web-based tools.

Why Use It?

The Catalog is the most authoritative listing of the LRC's print resources. It is best used to search for the location and availability of print books and journals.

Like the ER tool, it also includes an authoritative listing of the LRC's electronic resources.

Limitations

This tool does not feature searching by journal article titles or full textThe records in the Catalog represent the titles of each resource in the LRC collections. 

This tool does not feature full text searching.

 

Contact the LRC

 

 

Browse Our FAQs

Email: lrc.services@usuhs.edu

Telephone: (301) 295-3350

Need Resources Outside the LRC Collections?

The LRC offers two options to request materials which are not part of our collections:

  1. Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
  2. Purchase Request

Need Help Logging In?

Contact the LRC Computer Support Team, AMI (Applied Medical Informatics) at:

  • Email: lrc.rcs@usuhs.edu
  • Telephone: (301) 295-3398

Need Help Searching?

Contact an LRC librarian at:

  • Email: lrc.ref@usuhs.edu
  • Telephone: (301) 295-3358

Arthur W. Liu

Profile Photo
Arthur Liu
he / him
Contact:
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5784-048X
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358

USU Logo