Skip to main content

USU Archives: Home

USU Archives

1980 Graduates

1987 Graduates

1999 Graduates

AFIP Welcome

USU Construction

Artist's Rendering of Campus View

Board of Regents and Dr. James Zimble

Artist's Rendering of Cafeteria

Charter Class Students

USU Construction

Dr. Jay Sanford

Dr. Anthony Curreri

Curreris and Sanfords celebrating USU groundbreaking

Dr. Jay Sanford and early USU staffers

First USU Commencement, 1980

President Ronald Reagan at 1987 Commencement

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy

Studying in the LRC

Original location of USU, Bethesda, Maryland

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy with students

USU groundbreaking with President Gerald Ford

USU Archives

The University Archives for the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences collects, preserves, and makes available rare university materials; historical military medical and public health collections; and personal papers of enduring value from administrators, faculty, and alumni for the research use of the university and the general public. The Archives collects manuscripts, oral histories, rare books, audio-visual materials, and artifacts relating to the history of the University and the history of military medicine. 

Research Information and Policies

The Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences is located in Bethesda, Maryland adjacent to the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center. The USU Archives are located on the first floor of the Learning Resource Center (Building D). The department is open to researchers Monday through Friday, excluding federal holidays, from 0800 to 1530. If you would like a tour of our collections or would like to access parts of the collection, please call or email to make an appointment or stop by the office during regular business hours. If you are interested in donating materials to the USU Archives, please contact the Archives. 

Visiting scholars or members of the general public that wish to perform onsite research may access the Archives by appointment only. Any researchers coming from outside the military base will need to be sponsored by the Department of Medical History. For more information on sponsorship, please contact the Department of Medical History at 301-295-3168. Please contact the Archives with your questions or comments by phone or by email.

Information about collecting policies, processing and digitization procedures, and other materials relating to departmental operations can be obtained by contacting the Archives.

USU POSTER REPOSITORY

Did you make a poster for a conference or a workshop? Want to share it with the world? The LRC has launched an electronic poster repository for content generated at USU. The poster repository is an opt-in system for authors, but content needs to be vetted by External Affairs before it is posted online.

Browse the poster repository!

Featured Collections

Featured Rare Book

Related Institutions

The following are links to other institutions with collections and exhibits that complement the material in the USU Archives. 

National Museum of Health and Medicine

National Library of Medicine

National Archives and Records Administration

James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358