Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guidelines for Theses, Dissertations, and DNP Projects

Introduction

This guide provides resources for USU students preparing their theses, dissertations, or DNP projects. Specific questions regarding requirements and formatting should be addressed by the individual school/college.

Requirements by Program

Guidelines

Graduate Education in Biomedical Sciences and Public Health (GEO)

Center for Health Professions Education (CHPE)


Submission Instructions for SOM/GEO

Before you submit your paper, please ensure that it includes:

  • One PDF which combines: Final draft of paper + Digitally signed approval sheets + USU disclosure statement in one PDF
  • No Personally Identifiable Information/PII (examples: SSN, date of birth, home address, personal phone numbers, or CVs/biographies)
  • No Track Changes
  • No PDF Portfolios

Once you have successfully defended your paper, the GEO/SOM office will submit it to the following workflow for clearance by VPE and submission to the USU Archives:

After submission, your paper will be routed for approval as follows:

  • Department Head
  • Dean
  • External Affairs for clearance (submitter receives a clearance approval email at this step)
  • USU Archives

Final Step:

  • USU Archives will upload the paper to the digital repository and email the student with the URL (when possible).
  • USU Archives will collect all submissions and send them to DTIC annually.

Guidelines


Submission Instructions for GSN

Before you submit your paper, please ensure that it includes:

  • One PDF which combines: Final draft of paper + Digitally signed approval sheets + USU disclosure statement in one PDF
  • No Personally Identifiable Information/PII (examples: SSN, date of birth, home address, personal phone numbers, or CVs/biographies)
  • No Track Changes
  • No PDF Portfolios

Once you have successfully defended your thesis, dissertation, or DNP project and received approval from your committee, department head, and dean, the GSN office will submit it to the following Google Form for clearance by VPE.

Final Step:

  • Once cleared by VPE, GSN will submit the completed package to the USU Archives via email.
  • USU Archives will upload the paper to the digital repository and email the student (when possible) with the URL.
  • USU Archives will collect all submissions and send them to DTIC annually.

Guidelines


Submission Instructions for PDC

Before you submit your paper, please ensure that it includes:

  • One PDF which combines: Final draft of paper + Digitally signed approval sheets + USU disclosure statement in one PDF
  • No Personally Identifiable Information/PII (examples: SSN, date of birth, home address, personal phone numbers, or CVs/biographies)
  • No Track Changes
  • No PDF Portfolios

Once you have successfully defended your thesis and received approval from your committee, department head, and dean, the PDC office will submit it to the following Google Form for clearance by VPE.

Final Step:

  • Once cleared by VPE, PDC will submit the completed package to the USU Archives via email.
  • USU Archives will upload the paper to the digital repository and email the student (when possible) with the URL.
  • USU Archives will collect all submissions and send them to DTIC annually.

Find USU Theses, Dissertations, and DNP Projects

The USU Archives maintains an online collection of USU theses, dissertations, and DNP projects. The collection includes USU theses and dissertations from 1981, when the University began granting graduate degrees, through today.  The collection includes over 150 theses and dissertations from the Graduate School of Nursing and over 500 from the School of Medicine.  Also included are theses from the USU Postgraduate Dental College, which was established in 2010. As theses and dissertations are completed each year, the Archives adds those documents to the online collection.

Additionally, the collection includes Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) projects from the Daniel K. Inouye Graduate School of Nursing. These projects demonstrate the graduate's ability to evaluate and apply evidence to improve health and healthcare system outcomes. These original, innovative projects have informed clinical decisions, generated new policies and simulated process or practice changes, with the goal of improving care outcomes by increasing safety and effectiveness in the highly complex Military and Federal Healthcare Systems.

The views presented here are those of the author and are not to be construed as official or reflecting the views of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, the Department of Defense or the U.S. Government.

 

Search or Browse the Collection

James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358

USU Logo