Provides evidence-based content for hundreds of drugs. Includes neonatal-specific information such as dose, administration, uses, black box warning, contraindications/precautions, adverse effects, monitoring, pharmacology, special considerations/preparation, and drug and solution compatibilities.
From the Micromedex homepage, enter any term, phrase, or question into the search box. Micromedex is designed to work like familiar search engines and deliver results in a clean, uncluttered interface. Micromedex automatically searches across all content to which the LRC is currently subscribed. In addition, you can conduct your search using one of the following search tools:
Drug Interactions: This tool helps you identify drug (brand name or generic) interactions, their effects, and clinical significance. You can also search by specific allergies.
IV Compatibility: Use the IV compatibility tool to pinpoint potentially dangerous IV drug combinations.
Drug ID: Assists you in identifying pharmaceutical tablets, caplets, and capsules by any of their physical characteristics such as shape, color, pattern, or imprint code.
Drug Comparison: View and compare drugs side-by-side. Compare attributes such as: dosing, administration, indications, contraindications, precautions, adverse effects, and interactions to assist you in making the most informed choice.
CareNotes: Patient education information includes handouts by condition, drug or labs. The Care and Condition Titles also includes handouts specific to inpatient, general care and discharge care.
NeoFax/Pediatrics: Unfortunately this tool is only supported on the Internet Explorer (IE) browser. In addition, items must be enabled within the browser:
Other Tools
When searching for drug information bear in mind that the pharmaceutical literature employs different names for a substance depending on where it is in the development cycle of the drug.
Chemical Name - Describes the quantitative elementary composition of a compound (Databases rarely use)
Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number (CAS RN) - A unique code for each composition designated by the Chemical Abstracts company (Databases almost never use)
Investigational Drug Number, Laboratory Code, or research Number - Originating pharmaceutical companies assign codes to new drugs as a convenient way of identifying. Usually alpha-numeric. Works as a control number. (Occasionally used in databases)
Non proprietary or Generic Name or US Adopted Name (USAN) - FDA recognizes USAN as official designation. (Majority of databases use generic name.)
Brand, Proprietary, or Trade Name - Often used as a selective trademark by a manufacturer to identify a specific product. A company may have several different trade names for the same drug in different countries. (Generally not used as the main access point in databases)
Molecular or empirical formula - Describes the components of a compound. (Sometimes used as alternative nomenclature in databases)
In addition to Micromedex, the following resources focus on the therapeutic use of drugs:
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics (13th Edition) by 
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (14th Edition) by
