Skip to main content

USU Archives: USU Oral History

USU Archives

1980 Graduates

1987 Graduates

1999 Graduates

AFIP Welcome

USU Construction

Artist's Rendering of Campus View

Board of Regents and Dr. James Zimble

Artist's Rendering of Cafeteria

Charter Class Students

USU Construction

Dr. Jay Sanford

Dr. Anthony Curreri

Curreris and Sanfords celebrating USU groundbreaking

Dr. Jay Sanford and early USU staffers

First USU Commencement, 1980

President Ronald Reagan at 1987 Commencement

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy

Studying in the LRC

Original location of USU, Bethesda, Maryland

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy with students

USU groundbreaking with President Gerald Ford

Contact the Archives

Emelie Rubin's picture
Emelie Rubin
Contact:
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center
4301 Jones Bridge Road
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: 301-295-9559
Open Monday-Friday,
0800 to 1530
Closed on Federal Holidays
Website

USU Faculty Publications Citation Database

The USU Archives compiles a database containing journal articles and books or book chapters written by USU faculty. The database currently contains over 21,000 journal articles and nearly 1,000 books. The database is not comprehensive so please assist us by searching the database and submitting any citations that are missing.

Audiovisual Collection on YouTube

View USU commencement ceremonies, promotional material, and other related audiovisual content.

USU Archives YouTube Channel

USU Historical Photos

This collection includes photographs of individuals, events, and activities important to the history of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.  The collection includes photographs of the University's groundbreaking and construction, commencements, and early University staff and students.

USU Photos on Flickr

USU Oral History

In 2005, with the generous support of Dr. Val G. Hemming, former Dean of the F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine, the USU Archives began an oral history program. From the outset, the purpose of the program was to document the history of the University at a time when many faculty, staff, and administrators key to the founding of the University were retiring. The oral history program is an important growing part of the Archives mission to provide institutional memory and history. By collecting the interviews of prominent individuals connected to the University, the Archives will be better able to provide a comprehensive background picture of USU from its inception through the present day and beyond. 

Interview Subjects and Transcripts


Dr. Mark R. Adelman, PhD

  • Professor, Department of Anatomy, Physiology, and Genetics
  • Director of the Biomedical Instrumentation Center (BIC)
  • View Transcript 

 


 

Dr. Robert M. Allman, COL, USAF, MC (Ret.)

  • First Permanent Chair, Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences
  • View Transcript

 



Dr. Lewis Aronow, PhD

 



Dr. Simon Auster, JD, MD

 



Dr. Ronald R. Blanck, LTG, MC, USA (Ret.)

  • Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
  • Chair, Board of Regents
  • View Transcript

 



Dr. Emmanuel G. Cassimatis, MD, COL, MC, USA (Ret.)

  • Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs
  • Professor, Department of Psychiatry
  • Senior Project Officer, National Capital Area Medical Simulation Center (SIMCEN)
  • View Transcript

 



Dr. Brian M. Cox, PhD

  • Chair, Department of Pharmacology
  • First Director, Interdisciplinary Graduate Neuroscience Program
  • View Transcript

 



Dr. John H. Cross, PhD

 



Dr. David F. Cruess, PhD

  • Professor, Department of Preventive Medicine and Biometrics
  • Member, Graduate Education Committee
  • Faculty Senate President
  • Chair, Board of Regents
  • View Transcript


 

Dr. Richard C. Dimond, MD, COL, MC, USA (Ret.)

  • Assistant Dean for Clinical Sciences
  • Member, Student Promotion Committee
  • View Transcript

 


 

Mary A. Dix, MS

  • Equal Employment Opportunity
  • Assistant Dean Executive Affairs
  • Assistant Dean to the Deputy Dean
  • Vice President for Administration & Management
  • Assistant to the USU President for Special Projects
  • View Transcript 


 

Dr. Howard E. Fauver, Jr., MD

 



Dr. David S. Feigin, LCDR, MC, USN

  • Professor, Department Radiology and Radiological Sciences
  • View Transcript

 



Dr. Robert M. Friedman, MD

 

 

Dr. Donald M. Gragg, MD, PhD, CAPT, MC, USN (Ret.)

  • Head, Section on Medical Education
  • Associate Professor of Medical Education, Section on Medical Education
  • View Transcript



Dr. Neil E. Grunberg, PhD

  • Professor, Department of Medical and Clinical Psychology
  • Professor, Neuroscience Program
  • Director, Animal Behavior Laboratory
  • Director, Biochemistry and Psychoendocrinology Laboratory
  • View Transcript

 



Dr. Carl H. Gunderson, MD, COL, MC, USA (Ret.)

  • Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology
  • Member, SIMCEN planning group
  • View Transcript



Dr. Francis J. Haddy, MD, PhD


 

Donald L. Hagengruber, JD

  • Second University Counsel
  • Executive Secretary, Board of Regents
  • View Transcript


 

George S. Holborow

  • Anatomical Curator
  • Assistant Director of the Multidiscipline Laboratories
  • View Transcript



Dr. Kathryn V. Holmes, PhD

  • Professor, Department of Pathology
  • First Graduate Program Director, Department of Pathology
  • Member, Graduate Education Committee
  • View Transcript



Dr. Randall K. Holmes, PhD, MD

  • Founding Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
  • Chair, Graduate Education Committee
  • Acting Chair, Department of Biochemistry
  • View Transcript



Dr. Edmund (Randy) G. Howe, III, MD, JD

  • Professor, Department of Psychiatry
  • Director, Program in Medical Ethics
  • View Transcript


 

Anne L. Hufman

  • Director, University Computing Center
  • Program Analyst, Continuing Education for Health Professionals Directorate
  • View Transcript



Dr. Robert J.T. Joy, MD, FACP, COL, MC, USA (Ret.)



Dr. Kenneth E. Kinnamon, DVM, MS, PhD, COL, USA (Ret.)

  • Professor, F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine
  • Director, Multidiscipline Laboratories
  • Chief Operations Officer
  • Assistant Dean for Instructional and Research Support
  • Director, Centers for Preventive Medicine and Public Health (CPMPH)
  • Transcript - Part 1 - Restricted
  • Transcript - Part 2 - Restricted
  • View Transcript - Part 3
  • View Transcript - Part 4
  • View Transcript - Part 5


 

Dr. Douglas R. Knab, CAPT, MC, USN (Ret.)

  • Founding Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education (GME) Liaison
  • View Transcript



Dr. Larry Laughlin, MD, PhD, CAPT, MD, USN (Ret.)

  • Director, Division of Tropical Public Health, Department of Preventive Medicine and Biometrics
  • Chair, Department of Preventive Medicine and Biometrics
  • Sanford Chair of Tropical Medicine
  • Dean, F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine
  • View Transcript



Dr. Craig H. Llewellyn, MD MPH, MSTMH, COL, MC, USA (Ret.)



Dr. John E. Madewell, LTC, USAF, MC (Ret.)

  • De Facto Founding Chair, Department of Radiology
  • Radiology Registrar, Armed Forces Institute of Pathology (AFIP)
  • View Transcript

 

Dr. Motilal Pamnani, MD, PhD

  • Professor, Department of Physiology
  • Advisor to first USU graduate student
  • View Transcript 

 



Dr. Louis N. Pangaro, MD, COL, MC, USA (Ret.)

  • Professor and Vice Chair, Education Programs, Department of Medicine
  • View Transcript 

 



Chester J. Pletzke, AMLS

  • Associate Professor of Medical Bibliography
  • Director, Learning Resource Center
  • View Transcript 

 



Dr. Norman M. Rich, MD, FACS, DMCC, COL, MC, USA (Ret.)

 


Dr. Richard C. Simmonds, DVM, MS, COL, USAF, VC (Ret.)

  • Associate Professor, Department of Physiology
  • First Director, Department of Laboratory Animal Medicine
  • Faculty, Department of Laboratory Animal Medicine
  • View Transcript 

 



Dr. James G. Smirniotopoulos, MD

  • Professor and Chair, Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences
  • Creator, MedPix Image Database
  • View Transcript 

 



Dr. Dale C. Smith, PhD

  • Professor and Chair, Department of Medical History
  • First USU Senior Vice President
  • View Transcript 

 



Dr. Leonard C. Sperling, COL, MC, USA

 


Dennis Stutz

  • Coordinator, Multidiscipline Laboratories
  • Director, Customer Support Division
  • Director, Office of Review and Management
  • View Transcript

Dr. David S. Trump, MD, MS, MAJ GEN, USAF, MC (Ret.)

  • Dean, Military Medicine Education Institute (MMEI)
  • Vice President, University Affairs
  • View Transcript 

 



Dr. Robert J. Ursano, MD, COL, USAF, MC (Ret.)

  • Chair, Department of Psychiatry
  • Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Traumatic Stress (CSTS)
  • View Transcript 

 


Dr. Leonel J. Villavicencio, MD

 


Dr. David C. Wherry, MD, FACS, FRCS, DMCC, COL, USAF, MC (Ret.)

 


Dr. Barry W. Wolcott, MD, COL, MC, USA (Ret.)

  • Chairman, Section of Operational and Emergency Medicine
  • Vice President, Executive Affairs
  • Commandant
  • Brigade Commander
  • Executive Secretary, Board of Regents
  • View Transcript 

 



Dr. James A. Zimble, MD

Loading ...