Skip to main content

USU Archives: Military Medical History

USU Archives

1980 Graduates

1987 Graduates

1999 Graduates

AFIP Welcome

USU Construction

Artist's Rendering of Campus View

Board of Regents and Dr. James Zimble

Artist's Rendering of Cafeteria

Charter Class Students

USU Construction

Dr. Jay Sanford

Dr. Anthony Curreri

Curreris and Sanfords celebrating USU groundbreaking

Dr. Jay Sanford and early USU staffers

First USU Commencement, 1980

President Ronald Reagan at 1987 Commencement

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy

Studying in the LRC

Original location of USU, Bethesda, Maryland

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy with students

USU groundbreaking with President Gerald Ford

Contact the Archives

Emelie Rubin's picture
Emelie Rubin
Contact:
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center
4301 Jones Bridge Road
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: 301-295-9559
Open Monday-Friday,
0800 to 1530
Closed on Federal Holidays
Website

Audiovisual Collection on YouTube

View USU commencement ceremonies, promotional material, and other related audiovisual content.

USU Archives YouTube Channel

USU Historical Photos

This collection includes photographs of individuals, events, and activities important to the history of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.  The collection includes photographs of the University's groundbreaking and construction, commencements, and early University staff and students.

USU Photos on Flickr

Military Medical History Collections

The Archives collects unpublished material and rare books pertaining to the history of military medicine and public health. The Archives is in the process of arranging and describing its manuscript collections to make them more accessible to users. Most of the rare book collection has been catalogued and can be found in the Learning Resource Center's online catalogue. Please contact the Archives with any questions about our collections.

Rare Book Collection

The LRC Rare Book Collection consists of over 3,000 books covering surgery, obstetrics, psychology, the American Civil War, and World Wars I and II, among other subjects. The majority of the collection dates from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, but there are books from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries as well. The LRC's oldest book is Certaine Workes of Chirurgerie by Thomas Gale, from 1563. 

Much of the collection was donated to USU in 2005 as part of the Sommer Family Collection. Drs. George Sommer I and II, two New Jersey surgeons, collected these volumes over the course of the 20th century. The collection amassed by these two prominent physicians contains medical books and periodicals dating back to 1672.

The links below are a selection of books from the Rare Book Collection that have been scanned by the Archives. Other scanned books can be viewed and downloaded by searching the Archives' digital collection under the heading Military Medical History Documents.

LRC Catalog

The Rare Book collection is fully cataloged and searchable through the LRC Catalog using the search box below. 

Search the catalog for

 by 

 

Full searching options

Rare Book User Policy

  • The Rare Books and Special Collections are accessible Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 3:00 pm. Appointments are encouraged, but are not necessary. The collection is not accessible after these hours, except by special permission, but researchers may leave/email their information for/to the Archives Department so that their materials may be pulled for the next available business day.
  • Materials may only be used with a member of the LRC staff present. Copies/scans/digitization/etc. may only be made by the LRC staff, and will be done at the department’s discretion, based upon copyright or preservation concerns.
  • Rare books must be checked out to the patron’s LRC user account for the duration of use and checked back in at the end. If necessary, the books may be checked out by a member of the LRC staff while the patron uses them, with the approval of the Archivist. The rare books may be checked out for a two hour time limit. This alerts the patron and the circulation desk staff that a rare book is being checked out and that it cannot be removed from the LRC.
  • No eating or drinking is allowed while handling the materials.
  • Only pencils may be used while working with the rare books. Do not make marks on archival materials or take notes on top of them.  Please do not erase any existing marks in books, but bring them to the attention of the LRC staff.