Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

USU Archives: University Collections

USU Archives

1987 Graduates

USU groundbreaking with President Gerald Ford

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy with students

Original location of USU, Bethesda, Maryland

Studying in the LRC

Dr. Robert J.T. Joy

President Ronald Reagan at 1987 Commencement

First USU Commencement, 1980

Dr. Jay Sanford and early USU staffers

Curreris and Sanfords celebrating USU groundbreaking

Dr. Anthony Curreri

Dr. Jay Sanford

USU Construction

Charter Class Students

Artist's Rendering of Cafeteria

Board of Regents and Dr. James Zimble

Artist's Rendering of Campus View

USU Construction

AFIP Welcome

1999 Graduates

1980 Graduates

Rare Book Collection

Rare Book Collection

Contact the LRC

 

 

Browse Our FAQs

Email: lrc.services@usuhs.edu

Telephone: (301) 295-3350

Audiovisual Collection on YouTube

View USU commencement ceremonies, promotional material, and other related audiovisual content.

USU Archives YouTube Channel

USU Historical Photos

This collection includes photographs of individuals, events, and activities important to the history of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.  The collection includes photographs of the University's groundbreaking and construction, commencements, and early University staff and students.

USU Photos on Flickr

Related Institutions

The following are links to other institutions with collections and exhibits that complement the material in the USU Archives. 

National Museum of Health and Medicine

National Library of Medicine

National Archives and Records Administration

Guidelines for Theses, Dissertations, and DNP Projects

University Collections

The Archives accessions collections of significance to the history and culture of the university. These include university records, personal papers, USU dissertations and theses, and oral histories. The official administrative records of USU are reviewed and scheduled for disposition by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). For more information about records management at the university, please contact the university's Administrative Support Division by phone at 301-295-9387.

Browse or search all digitized selections from the collections.

USU Theses, Dissertations, and DNP Projects

The USU Archives maintains an online collection of USU theses, dissertations, and DNP projects. The collection includes USU theses and dissertations from 1981, when the University began granting graduate degrees, through today.  The collection includes over 150 theses and dissertations from the Graduate School of Nursing and over 500 from the School of Medicine.  Also included are theses from the USU Postgraduate Dental College, which was established in 2010. As theses and dissertations are completed each year, the Archives adds those documents to the online collection.

Additionally, the collection includes Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) projects from the Daniel K. Inouye Graduate School of Nursing. These projects demonstrate the graduate's ability to evaluate and apply evidence to improve health and healthcare system outcomes. These original, innovative projects have informed clinical decisions, generated new policies and simulated process or practice changes, with the goal of improving care outcomes by increasing safety and effectiveness in the highly complex Military and Federal Healthcare Systems.

The views presented here are those of the author and are not to be construed as official or reflecting the views of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, the Department of Defense or the U.S. Government.

 

Search or Browse the Collection

USU Faculty Publications Citation Database

The USU Archives compiles a database containing journal articles and books or book chapters written by USU faculty. The database currently contains over 21,000 journal articles and nearly 1,000 books. The database is not currently available for online searching. If you would like to access the Faculty Publications database or add citations to the database, please contact the Archives by clicking on the "Ask LRC Staff" button on the left. 

Personal Papers

The USU Archives collects personal papers of enduring value from administrators, faculty, and alumni for the research use of the University staff, students, scholars, and the general public. Dr. Craig Llewellyn, former chair of the Department of Military Medicine, donated the first collection of personal papers, which offer insight into the unique nature of USUHS and the one of a kind programs offered here.

Click below to view a finding aid for each collection.

USU Oral History

In 2005, with the generous support of Dr. Val G. Hemming, former Dean of the F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine, the USU Archives began an oral history program. From the outset, the purpose of the program was to document the history of the University at a time when many faculty, staff, and administrators key to the founding of the University were retiring. The oral history program is an important, ever-growing part of the Archives mission to provide institutional memory and history. By collecting the interviews of prominent individuals connected to the University, the Archives will be better able to provide a comprehensive background picture of USU from its inception through the present day and beyond.

Search and read oral history transcripts.

James A. Zimble Learning Resource Center • 4301 Jones Bridge Rd. Bethesda, MD 20814 • Main Number: 301-295-3189 • AMI Helpdesk: 301-295-3358

USU Logo