Search for rare books, manuscript collections, and other archival material in the LRC catalog.
Search for digitized selections from the USU Archives, including documents, photographs, and full text rare books and manuscript material.
The USU Archives has a number of U.S. Government and military bulletins, guidebooks, and manuals in its collections, ranging from medical officer reference books to aids for using pack animals. A number of these items have been scanned and can be viewed and downloaded via the Archives online collections, while others can be searched via their collection's finding aid and viewed in person.
The Military Medical Manuals Collection spans the years 1912-1975 and includes many undated documents. The collection materials include manuals and instructional materials produced by the government to guide military procedures. They relate primarily to medical education within the military and sanitation, but also cover a wide range of medical topics dealt with in the military. The Finding Aid for this collection is linked below.
The following are a selection of titles from this collection:
Letterman General Hospital: Blood Chemistry for Laboratory Technicians. c 1940
Sanitation Instructions. 1942
Use of Gasoline Containers for Transportation of Drinking Water. 1943
Transportation of the Sick and Wounded. 1945
Damage from Atomic Explosion and Design of Protective Structures. 1950
Poisonous Fish-like Vertebrates. 1957
Lectures in Aerospace Medicine. 1963
Aeromedical Reviews: Pharmacology and Toxicology of Propellant Fuels. 1966
The USU Archives has scanned several U.S. Army Technical Bulletins created by the U.S. War Department, from 1956-1957. These materials can be viewed and downloaded from the Archives' online collections. These bulletins deal with medical treatments dealing with diseases and the effects of heat.
The Military Medical History Documents collection in the USU Archives' Digital Repository features a number of military medical handbooks and guidebooks. The following are a selection of those that have been scanned by the USU Archives.
Civil War Materials
World War II Materials
Radiological Defense Materials