Learning Resource Center: USU Archives: About USU Archives

Research Information and Policies

The Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences is located in Bethesda, Maryland adjacent to the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center. The USU Archives are located in the Learning Resource Center (Building D). The department is open to researchers Monday through Friday, excluding federal holidays, by appointment only. If you would like a tour of our collections or would like to access parts of the collection, click the "Contact Us" button at the top of the page. If you are interested in donating materials to the USU Archives, please review the LRC's donations guidance.

Information about collecting policies, processing and digitization procedures, and other materials relating to departmental operations can be obtained by contacting the Archives.

USU Archives Subject Guides

USU Historical Materials The University Collections in the USU Archives contain a multitude of material relating to the founding, growth, and operations of the Uniformed Services University. This subject guide provides a brief overview of the University's history with a sample of corresponding documents.
American Civil War Materials The USU Archives has a number of items relating to the American Civil War across various collections. These materials include publications and reports by the U.S. Sanitary Commission, memoirs by doctors and nurses, correspondence, and numerous books about various subjects relating to medicine during and after the war.
World War I Materials The USU Archives has a number of items relating to World War I across various collections. These materials include U.S. Government publications about hospitals, books about shell shock, contemporary newspapers, and numerous books about various subjects relating to medicine and World War I.
World War II Materials The USU Archives has a number of items relating to World War II across various collections. These materials include U.S. Government publications dealing with field medicine, reports from the German Medical Consultants Conferences, contemporary reports and publications, and historical accounts.
U.S. Sanitary Commission Materials The U.S. Sanitary Commission was founded in 1861, a private relief agency created to support ill and wounded soldiers of the Union Army during the Civil War. Primarily staffed by volunteers, often women, the Sanitary Commission raised money, made uniforms, collected food and other supplies, and ran hospital ships and soldiers’ homes for the U.S. Army.
Combat Disorders and Field Medicine Materials The USU Archives has a number of items relating to combat disorders and field medicine in both the manuscript and Rare Book collections. Combat disorders are defined by the National Library of Medicine as "Neurotic reactions to unusual, severe, or overwhelming military stress". Field medicine (also called combat casualty care) is the treatment of wounded individuals in areas of combat.
Tropical Medicine Materials Tropical Medicine is the branch of medicine that deals with health issues that are more common or are harder to control in tropical and subtropical regions. Tropical Medicine is a topic of particular importance at USU due to the international nature of military medicine. The USU Archives has a number of items relating to Tropical Medicine across various collections. These materials include U.S. government publications, rare books, papers by USU faculty and students, and historical publications.
Medicine in Extreme Cold Weather The USU Archives has a number of items relating to medicine in extreme cold weather in both the manuscript and rare book collections. Exploration and scientific research have taken people to the coldest places on Earth, requiring the study and development of the effects of extreme cold on the human body, and what prevention and treatment can be used in these circumstances.
Manuals and Instructions in the USU Archives The USU Archives has a number of U.S. Government and military bulletins, guidebooks, and manuals in its collections, ranging from medical officer reference books to aids for using pack animals. A number of these items have been scanned and can be viewed and downloaded via the Archives online collections, while others can be searched via their collection's finding aid and viewed in person.
Women During Wartime The USU Archives has several items relating to women's contributions during wartime. These materials span various collections and include U.S. Government publications, contemporary newspapers, biographies, and memoirs.
Pandemics The USU Archives and the LRC collection have a number of items that relate to both historical and contemporary pandemics. These materials include books, military medical publications, and other items.
Prisoner of War (POW) and Missing in Action (MIA) Materials The USU Archives has a number of items relating to Prisoners of War (POW) and Missing in Action (MIA) in the manuscript and rare book collections. The LRC general and history collections also have a number of related materials.

Related Institutions

The following are links to other institutions with collections and exhibits that complement the material in the USU Archives.

National Museum of Health and Medicine
National Library of Medicine
National Archives and Records Administration
- Research
- Veterans' Service Records

Tutorials

Find Rare Books
Online tutorial for assistance with finding rare books in the LRC's catalog
Navigate the USU Archives Digital Repository
Online tutorial for assistance with navigating the USU Archives Digital Repository

James A. Zimble
Learning Resource Center

USU Archives

About the USU Archives

Research Information and Policies

USU Archives Subject Guides

Related Institutions

Tutorials